My Favourite Book Chat Book

This year, my favourite book chat book was Toad Rage, written by Morris Gleitzmen. I would say it belongs in the humour and fantasy genres. I found it humorous at times however it wasn’t as funny as I was expecting it to be. I think it had a some fantasy in it because a cane toad doesn’t really have a lifestyle of a human. It is set in a make believe world where toads live. It also had some true facts because people are killing cane toads because they are a pest in Queensland because they are poisonous.

This book is about a Toad called Limpy, who goes on an adventure to find out why humans hate cane toads. He is sick of watching all of his family and relatives getting squashed by the cars on the highway. When they dry out, Limpy scrapes them off the road and stakes them all in his bedroom. He doesn’t know why humans don’t bother to stop the car and let the cane toads cross, instead they just run over them. 

I enjoyed this book because I found it was really interesting to step inside the life of a cane toad, and see things from a cane toads perspective. I felt like I was reading a diary of a cane toad!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and if you ever get a chance to read it, I hope you enjoy it as well. It is a really informative experience to step inside the life of a cane toad and learn how they live. 

Tell me about your favourite book!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *